Exploring


Thank you for consider the Exploring program. We endeavor to provide hands-on career activities to help you or the young people you serve discover their future. If you have suggestions to help improve or expand Exploring in our area, then please feel free to share them by calling or e-mailing. You can also view more resources, training and the expansive Activity Library on our National Exploring web site: www.exploring.org 


ABIGAIL KRAUSE
Exploring and Workforce Development Executive 

Illinois and Northwest Indiana, Pathway to Adventure Council

Phone: 312-421-8800 x 257
Email: abigail.krause@scouting.org

###


EXPLORING POSTS

Young men and women 14 to 20 years old (or 13 and have completed 8th grade)

Exploring is about helping young adults make more informed decisions about future careers and determine if a particular career is the right one for them.

Typically, a young adult will learn about a career and decide to pursue it or learn enough about the career to determine it is not the right fit for him or her. It’s better to learn as a young adult that a career is not for you than to spend lots of time and money on an education only to then discover you don’t like a career!

In the Exploring program, it’s not about lectures and slide shows; it’s about gaining practical insight and hands-on knowledge in a career field.

Exploring provides opportunities in 12 career fields. Try one or try them all!


EXPLORING CLUBS

Middle School Exploring Clubs for young men and women 6th thru 8th grades

Interest in the concept of career orientation has skyrocketed in recent years, due in large part to the focus of the U.S, Department of Education. Across the nation, schools are conducting research into the career interests of middle-school students.

Our National Exploring Office responded by creating innovative coeducational Middle School Explorer Club programs for students in the sixth, seventh and eighth grades.

The clubs offer an array of options. One popular choice features presentations by professionals from across several career fields, including Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM). Another choice is to focus on one particular field such as Law Enforcement or Fire and Emergency Services. All programs include hands-on activities and are sponsored by schools, service clubs, chambers of commerce, or PTAs. In addition, local Exploring posts can help provide mentoring opportunities for the youth in the clubs.

 

South
Unit Career Field Community Organization Exploring Advisor Contact Email Zip Code Staff Responsible
Post 0654 First United Methodist Church
Christine Hazard hazardce15@gmail.com
Abby Krause

Post 1070 Fire & EMS
Schererville Fire Department
Joseph Kruzan jkruzan@schereville.org  46375 Abby Krause
Post 1200 Law
Enforcement

Calumet City Police Department

Christopher Siatta CSiatta@calumetcity.org

60409 Abby Krause
Post 2197 Law
Enforcement

Munster Police Department

Gabe Isenblatter


gisenblatter@munster.org

46321 Abby Krause
Post 2638 Law
Enforcement

Crestwood Police Department
Garry Winer gwiner@crestwood.illinois.gov
60445 Abby Krause
Post 2664 Law Enforcement
Oak Forest Police Department Todd Arthur tarthur@oak-forest.org  60452 Abby Krause
Post 2700 Fire and EMS
Crete Fire Department
Jim Boehner jboehner@att.net 60417 Abby Krause
Post 2950 Law Enforcement
Lansing Police Department Peter Grutzius pgrutzius@villageoflansing.org
60438 Abby Krause
Post 9228 Skilled Trades
Bremen High School District 228
Jason Wasilewski mill3rman@gmail.com
Abby Krause

Chicago
Unit Career Field Community Organization Exploring Advisor Contact Email or Phone Zip Code Staff Responsible
Post 1920 Law Enforcement Federal Bureau of Investigation: Chicago Division Sarah Henklemann 60608 Abby Krause
Post 2534 Science and Technology St. Mark United Methodist Church Otis Pope oepope@yahoo.com 60619 Abby Krause
Club 8315 Law Enforcement Chicago Police District: 15th District William Martinez (312) 743-1495 60644 Abby Krause
Post 8502 Law Enforcement 2nd District Chicago Police Explorers Mark Rodriguez (773) 415-4040 60609 Abby Krause
Club 8522 Law Enforcement Chicago Police District 022 Caressa Northcross caressa.northcross@chicagopolice.org 60643 Abby Krause
Club 8525 Law Enforcement 25th District Chicago Police Michael Miedona michael.miedona@chicagopolice.org 60639 Abby Krause
Club 8907 Law Enforcement 7th District CAPS Cortez Cox cortez.cox@chicagopolice.org 60636 Abby Krause
Post 9315 Law Enforcement Chicago Police Department: 15th District Jorge Munoz jorge.munoz@chicagopolice.org 60643 Abby Krause
Post 9502 Law and Government CBA YLA Law Explorers Brett Geschke brett.geschke@cbaylaw.org Abby Krause
Post 9522 Law Enforcement Chicago Police District 022 Caressa Northcross caressa.northcross@chicagopolice.org 60643 Abby Krause
Post 2525 Law Enforcement 25th District Chicago Police Michael Miedona michael.miedona@chicagopolice.org 60639 Abby Krause
Post 9706 Law Enforcement U.S. Customs Explorer Post Rebeca Rivera rebeca.rivera@uscustomsexplorer.org Abby Krause
Post 9902 Law Enforcement 2nd District Chicago Police Explorers Mark Rodriguez (773) 415-4040 60609 Abby Krause
Post 9906 Law Enforcement 6th District Explorers Nicosia Matthews nicosia.matthews@thdistrict.org 60620 Abby Krause
Post 9907 Law Enforcement 7th District CAPS John Cleggett john.cleggett@chicagopolice.org 60643 Abby Krause
Post 9912 Law Enforcement 12th District Chicago Police Lisa Barraco lisa.barraco@chicagopolice.org 60608 Abby Krause
Post 9920 Education Chicago Youth Education Exchange Ren Li rli@csedu-usa.com Abby Krause

Des Plaines Valley
Unit Career Field Community Organization Exploring Advisor Contact Email Zip Code Staff Responsible
Post 0017 Fire & EMS Western Springs Fire Department

Mario Perez mperez@wsprings.com

60558 Abby Krause

Post 0020 Fire & EMS Broadview Fire Department

Pat McGivney csfd9105@yahoo.com

60155 Abby Krause

Post 0740 Fire & EMS Western Spring Fire Department Arthur Hall ahull@wsprings.com 60558 Abby Krause
Post 0094 Law
Enforcement
Berwyn Police Department

Carmelita Terry cterry@ci.berwyn.il.us

60402 Abby Krause

Post 2035 Bedford Park Fire Department Bedford Park Fire Department Michelle Brown michellebrown585@gmail.com Abby Krause
Post 0100 Law
Enforcement
Maywood Police Department

Val Talley vtalley@maywoodpolice-il.org

60153 Abby Krause

Post 0390 Law
Enforcement
Fraternal Order Of Police Lodge 39

Brian Greenenwald bgreenenwald@riverside.il.us

60546 Abby Krause
Post 0449 Law
Enforcement
Lemont Police Department

Robert Keane rkeane@lemont.il.us

60439 Abby Krause

Post 0500 Law
Enforcement
Village of Willowbrook Daniel Polfliet dpolflie@willowbrook.il.us

60527 Abby Krause

Post 0740 Law
Enforcement

Western Springs Police Department

Arthur Hull ahull@wsprings.com

60558 Abby Krause

Post 3249 Health MacNeal Hospital Natalia Avila navilia@mcneal.com

60402 Abby Krause


Northwest Suburbs
Unit Career Field Community Organization Exploring Advisor Contact Email or Phone Zip Code Staff Responsible
Post 0002 Law
Enforcement
Village of Lake Zurich Police Department

Scott Pavlock Scott.Pavlock@LakeZurich.org 60047 Abby Krause
Post 0009 Aviation Windy City Flyers, Inc Dougas Powers dougfpowers@sbcglobal.net

60090 Abby Krause

Post 0028 Fire & EMS Niles Fire Department James Leibach (847) 588-6800 60714 Abby Krause

Post 0053 Law
Enforcement
Niles Police Department Peter Daoud pmd@vniles.com

60714 Abby Krause
Post 0109 Law
Enforcement
Morton Grove Police Department Dennis Johnson djohnson@mortongroveeil.org

60053 Abby Krause
Post 0130 Law
Enforcement
Barrington Police Department Emmanuel Rodriguez lprodrigueze@gmail.com

60010 Abby Krause
Post 0142 Law
Enforcement
Des Plaines Police Department Mike Heidkamp mheidkamp@desplaines.org

60016 Abby Krause
Post 0300 Law
Enforcement
Skokie Police Department Tammy Jacobsen tammy.jacobson@skokie.org

60077 Abby Krause

Post 0333 Fire & EMS Schaumburg Fire Department Frederick Schlopp fscholpp@ci.schaumburg.il.us

60194 Abby Krause
 
Post 0707 Law
Enforcement
US Customs & Border Protection Esmeralda Samaniego esmeralda.samaniego@dhs.gov

60018 Abby Krause
Post 0806 Law
Enforcement
Hoffman Estates Police Lisa Notarnicola lisa.notarnicola@hoffmanestates.org

60169 Abby Krause
Post 0915 Chemistry & Chemical Engineering UOP Randy Zea Randy.Zea@Honeywell.com

60017 Abby Krause

 



Training & Safety

Youth Protection Training


Awards & Recognitions
Scholarships

Current Hands-on Career Programs:


Arts & Humanities

Aviation

Business

Communications


Engineering and
Technology


Fire Service

Health

Law

Law Enforcement

Science

Skilled Trades

Social Services